Zen is you – Be.

Your happy existence

Posted in Disclaimers by dave225 on August 26, 2008

This blog is about you controlling your own happiness in your job.  In a place where you spend a lot of your time and thought, yet control less of it than you might be willing to admit – if you can’t control the tactical, you can at least control your involvement and your reactions.  (Or, as we hope to reckon, your actions.  There will be no more reactions!)

I have to admit that I have a great job, don’t have a boss from hell, and I serve a noble cause. But I like to think that if I woke up tomorrow and found myself shoveling shit for a world-class moron that peddled guns to children – I would have the perspective I need to either be satisfied in that job or know when to quit. So the blog posts to follow may be a bit of “let them eat cake” – but I’ve eaten my share of moldy bread too. Sometimes you can close your eyes and hold your nose, and sometimes you have to risk going hungry rather than eat something that’ll kill you.

So I welcome comments that keep me from professing my Utopia (or, Nirvana*, i guess) as the real world.

*Also, I don’t really know anything about Buddhism. The “Zen” is the Yin & Yang of being happy in a capitalistic society. Creative license. And yes, I get the irony of spouting superficial business platitudes and calling it Zen … But the end is supposed to justify the means and the greater good is your ability to live happily in your existence… or to change it.

So I’m not too interested in comments about that, but they might prove to be entertaining.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kate said, on August 27, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Sounds interesting. I can’t wait to read the rest of your posts.


Leave a Reply

